Carpe Diem: Aomugi

This is my first entry to the Carpe Diem Haiku weblog, and I hope you all enjoy it. I’ll be honest, I haven’t written a haiku since primary school, where my debut work was ‘My Dog Jazz’. So, let’s give it a whirl, country girl!

Ah yes, the prompt word is Aomugi, meaning Green Barley!


O, sweet green barley,
Your long fronds a-swing the breeze,
Softly past my face.


So high dust thee climb,
Aomugi, for the hops,
Aye, for bitter beer.


Hey, how was that? Please comment!

5 thoughts on “Carpe Diem: Aomugi

Leave a Reply

