Vintage Pens!

For Christmas this year, I was lucky to receive a few items relating to pen and ink. If you’re interested, the sum total of such items was:

Mabie Todd Swan 200/60
Noodler’s Konrad Flex Pen
Diamine Sepia
Noodler’s X-Feather Black
Rhodia Webnotebook Pocket Notebook
Moleskine Limited Edition ‘The Hobbit’ Pocket Notebook

It is, however, the first item I am interested in talking to you about today. The Swan pen is a vintage pen of the Mabie Todd & Co (MT&C) pen company. The company is gone now and are not producing any more, which is a shame. It dates to during the second world war, being c1940’s. It’s a lovely pen, and writes with a fine semi-flex nib, giving some line variation. The material is called ‘BCHR’ in the fountain pen community – Black Chased Hard Rubber. Here are some pictures:

P1050253_zpscc2c3e02

Capped

P1050258_zps9276c97b

Posted

P1050255_zps07345afa

The Inscription

P1050256_zpsabcd8855

The Nib

P1050259_zps381e923d

Size Comparison With Pelikan M200

As you can see, it’s a very pretty pen (in my humble opinion anyway). I haven’t had a flex nibbed pen before now (it’s my first), due to the fact that very few are produced nowadays. I thought I might have difficulty using it, as some nibs require a very light hand to work with. However, this one isn’t too flexible and I can write with ease. the quality of the nib is astounding, especially considering that it’s at least 70 years old. The pen is also a lever filler, which I have not had before. Suffice to say, it works perfectly. I’m very happy with this pen. It has opened up my eyes to a whole area of pens I’ve barely considered before now. Let’s just say that I’m on the vintage market too, now. If you’re interested, this pen cost £80 on fleaBay. However, I highly expect you can get the same quality for half the price if you’re patient (I just went in for the kill on the Christmas rush).

Lastly, here’s a writing sample for your pleasure. The ink is Diamine Midnight.

MTWritingSample_zps82be0545


PS: Has my handwriting improved from here?

Leave a Reply

