Making Money (Terry Pratchett) Book Review

Making Money Book Review, Terry Pratchett

Now, I can only apologise for the length of time it took me to read this book. I do try and keep the blog interesting between reviews, but being a book review blog I do sometimes feel guilty over how long it can take me to read a book. Again, apologies for the wait. Best get writing. This is the second Pratchett book in a row I have reviewed, and I didn’t really enjoy this one as much. Pratchett is still a wonderful author, in my opinion.


In Making Money, our old friend Moist von Lipwig is visited by Havelock, Lord Vetinari. Vetinari has an offer. A suggestion. An order. Lipwig, whom is bored of the post office but does not want to admit it, is gently suggested (told to) take over as Master of the Royal Mint at the Ankh Morpork Royal Bank. After sincerely declining the offer, Lipwig finds himself the owner of a dog, whom itself owns 51% of the bank. The makes the dog the chairman, and Lipwig in a difficult place to refuse the post Master of the Royal Mint. Best he gets to work Making Money..


The plot of Making Money is slightly disappointing. It is a lot, lot slower than any other Pratchett book I have ever read, and this is not an improvement. I felt like I was waiting for things to kick off through most of the book. They did, mind you, but not to an epic level. I think that a lot of things were ‘bigged up’, such as the invention of bank notes, but never really used. They didn’t end up being very relevant to the plot. It was also a bit similar to Going Postal in the respect of ‘oh, let’s create stamps to be put on letters. It’ll be easier than paying with dollars!’ and similarly ‘hey, stamps worked, so why not create paper money. It’ll be far easier than carrying dollars around!’. It was all a bit samey really, and without the subtle rivalry between Lipwig and Reacher Gilt. There was little focus on golems throughout the book, and I though they were a subplot. The suddenly, they were what the plot was based around! What?


The characters. Mr Lipwig is still Mr Lipwig of course, but he seems to have lost some of his charm. Or at least, we see less of it. There is less of his wit and intelligence in devising solutions to all the problems of the bank, and more focus on.. nothing, really. I still enjoyed Vetinari’s persona in the book, his style is still crisp and unique, so we’re all swell there. Pratchett did little to improve upon A.B. Dearheart in this book, despite her new role of fiancĂ© to the Master of the Royal Mint and her relevance to the main plot. We meet the Lavish family, whom we see a lot of (especially Cosmo). I thought that Pratchett was gearing them to be Lipwig’s main rivals in the book, but their presence seemed to dissolve into nothingness in the end, and I find myself wondering why they were in the book at all.


I know this review hasn’t been very long, and I apologise. The thing is, it isn’t a bad book. Neither is it a good book. Therefore, I don’t really have much to say about it, just the ways it didn’t measure up to expectation. If you really enjoy Moist Von Lipwig as a character, then get this book. It’s a fix for more, one might say. If you were not too convinced with Going Postal, you’ll enjoy Making Money even less. I wouldn’t bother.

For me, this book is 5/10, purely because it is average. The plot is bad, but the characters are still amusing. If you crave Disworld and haven’t read it, do.

Leave a Reply

